Don’t Make Any Sudden Movements!

Poster ImageWell hello folks, I must apologise as I seem to have been away for some time, but there’s been a good reason for it. I’ve actually been working on making a music video over the summer for Invertor who are one of the Single Cell Collective  acts  ( if you click on the link click on a T Shirt to find out more about them). Their song “Don’t Make Any Sudden Movements” was released on the Six Rivers album in 2009, so it’s not a new song, but I was looking for a song which would fit with an idea I had about civil liberties and Public Space Protection Orders, some new form of anti-social behaviour order. I wanted to take the idea that these new powers could potentially affect anyone, and my fictional Public Space Protection Officers  would actually be from a private security firm which police themselves. The plot of the film centres around a picnic that goes horribly wrong, down to the intervention of Public Space Protection Officers. The idea was inspired by a number of stories I read about these new powers being used, particularly the story about homeless guys having their belongings confiscated by police for sleeping rough – here’s a story from the Independent about it. The idea had been buzzing around in my head for a couple of months when I had the opportunity to make a music video as part of the Bokeh Yeah! Single Cell Music Video Challenge and so it went from there. This is the second short film I have directed, and it was actually a brilliant experience, I couldn’t have asked for better cast or crew and everybody had lots of fun making it. There will a public screening of my film, and others which have been created for this challenge at The Three Minute Theatre on Thursday 10th October from 7pm with musical accompaniment from some of the Single Cell artistes. Come and have a look!  🙂

Leave a Reply

